top of page

Teacher Feature - Mr. Wagner

by Sarah Burmester and Mia Leese


For the second issue of the Teacher Feature, we interviewed Mr. Wagner who has become commonly known as “Swagner.”


We asked what his favorite part about teaching at the school was and his reply was that he

loves it when somebody that he’s working with tells him that they can't do something and then they figure it out and that makes him really happy. “I love it when I can see that take place.”


Naturally, our second question was when you were younger what did you think you would be when you grow up and why?

“When I was probably Elementary or Middle School I thought I would be a professional football or baseball player clearly those two didn’t work out! Those did not happen! In high school I really thought I would be a chemist, I ended up doing that for many many years before I started teaching.


After this, we asked what's an achievement that are you proud of?

“In High school, it would be winning the state championship in wrestling, much later in life it would be when I went back to college to get my teaching certification and I actually put in my best effort and worked hard in school before and felt like I was in learning.”


Why did you choose to teach at Harwood and did you ever consider teaching somewhere else? “I'm when you're when you first get your teaching license you either you try to get in anywhere you can I happen to be working at Harwood as a coach and I did some long-term subbing here so that opened up an opportunity when someone retired and it was just like kind of a cool way to jump in here.”


After this, we asked less serious questions.


If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go?

“I've already been to Italy but I want to go back again.”


And lastly, if you had any animal what would it be and what would you name it?

“I thought you said you were going to show me with any questions think I have to be a tiger named Tony.”




Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page